I come down the stairs and see the mess….and I want to give up. I am overwhelmed by the day, by the week, by the demands of my life.  It feels like it is too much.  Maybe I can’t handle another request for a snack, another argument over a toy, another temper tantrum (except my own, of course), another counter full of dirty cups, plates, and crumbs, another bathroom floor strewn with wet towels.

I am convinced the only solution is to get away alone- but that option is nowhere in sight.  I try the ‘let’s all just watch a movie’ routine, but that turns into a fight over who gets to sit in the favorite spot on the couch.  And I want to throw in the towel and call it quits.  Now what?

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. 1 Corinthians 10:13

In my focus on how I feel, on my circumstances, I have forgotten Jesus’ good news, “In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Is this really tribulation?  Do these difficult moments at home really count as trials?  How can I compare these simple difficulties to my sisters around the world who are enduring serious heartache and permanent (at least until they are in Glory) pain.

Yes, there are deeper sufferings than the daily struggles of motherhood.  But if I discount these struggles because they are not as hard as possible, or because someone else is in deeper pain than I am, I miss completely what He want to show me today.

And surely He wants to use whatever He brings me on this day to grow me into what He has for me to face in the future.  So I want to hold onto Him today, in the everyday things to know the Savior more,

I want to learn, in these ordinary, commonplace difficulties, the big lessons.

Of loving His sovereignty when my little ones will not take a nap, of trusting in His goodness when my freshly washed floors receive a showering of orange juice, of rejoicing in all things when I walk upstairs to relax at day’s end and face a floor full of wet towels.

Will He allow me, if I offer these things to him, to experience what Paul spoke about to the Philippians, that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death?  

Oh please, Lord.  Let me know You more.  Today, even?

And so I pray, by His mercy, that He will transform my home into His dwelling place, that He will meet me in these moments, and in so doing that He will transform my heart and mind into more of His image, for His glory.

