As I open my Bible this morning, my thoughts are swirling.  Thinking about many needs in my life, needs in the lives of those I love, some desires I have.

I lay out my needs before Him, writing down on paper the list that has filled my mind for days.

When I am anxious, I am forgetting His goodness and grace to me.  I am forgetting His past kindness and His promises of a good future.

He asks me to cast my cares upon Him, and I finally obey.

In God’s kindness, He breaks open the Word and feeds my anxious heart.

Once again, the Gospel is the foundation for the peace He promises.

He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?
(Romans 8:32 ESV)

In the Gospel, I see the lavish love and care of the Father.  My worry and anxiety over today and tomorrow (and tomorrow’s tomorrow) cannot stand in light of this perfect provision for what was my greatest need, the salvation of my soul.

If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!
(Matthew 7:11 ESV)

Our Father delights in answering the prayers of His children.  He loves to give us good things.

But what if it seems as though what He has given today is not good?  An empty checking account, a disobedient child, a derailed schedule?

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 ESV)

Because of His promises, because of the incredible proof of Love He has given us in the Gospel, we can accept with glad hearts and open hands whatever He brings our way.  Any circumstance we may find ourselves in today is His grace to us, His showing us His love and care, His power and sufficiency.

Because all is grace, in both the things we like and the things we would rather avoid , we can say, “Thank you, Father, for this providence.”  We can agree with the Psalmist, who declared, “The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. (Psalm 16:6 ESV)”

